A fairy-tale indulgence for adults: Coelho’s The Alchemist

It’s the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting.”
― Paulo CoelhoAlchemist

 alchemist

This is a traditional fable woven for modern audiences of just about any age. Santiago, an Andalusian Shepherd yearns for adventure and dreams of a great treasure, who doesn’t? Unlike so many of us, Santiago trusts his gut and goes for broke, pulling himself away from a much-loved life of placid contentment amongst his sheep. He meets challenges violent, passive and unexpected, but the gamble eventually pays off. It’s lyrical and light and suprisingly satisfying.

 A little over a year ago, I landed in Australia with few bearings and little direction; my cousin gave me The Alchemist. The book had never appealed to me, fluff it seemed (fluff it is), but now I had to read it.

As corny as it sounds, and I cringe now at how poignant the book seemed then, this little tale gave me the courage the test out ambitions I’d forced dormant for years. With Coelho’s words I convinced myself, just long enough to bite the bullet, that the universe was in fact designed to enable the pursuit of our purest, sincerest dreams. Though I’ve seen enough of the world to know that life is often an irrational, spiteful bitch intent on undermining the most vulnerable amongst us, Coehlo allowed me a little window of pink. If you need that little window, or you know someone needing a gentle, not-so-subtle nudge towards grabbing the bull by the horns, this is probably a pretty good bet.

 Although a touch simplistic, and often a little self-congratulatory, Coehlo manages to weave a surprisingly rich tale of love and hope and perseverance – it tells us again and again that we must listen to our hearts. Weighing in under 200 pages The Alchemist is just brief enough not to get sickly and manages, despite the moralising, to avoid the religious undertones which put me off Coehlo’s other books.

Paulo Coelho’s writing has a distinctly latin flavour, for more of that, especially with regards the magical realism and allegorical tales, try Isabel Allende or Gabriel Garcia Marquez. If the story that caught your interest, Dan Millman’s Way of the Peaceful Warrior has more peaceful wisdom to offer…

Leave a comment